Leave a comment

Creep Fest 2013

image

1. Quarries

I’ve lived by a quarry ever since I was young. This gigantic manmade hole is creepy to me for a very strange fear; a fear of vast amounts of empty space. Many-a-disturbed towns folk were known to jump into this quarry. There is an account of one individual who lit himself on fire and jumped into the quarry, only to be caught by a branch and subsequently paralyzed. The quarry I lived by was also used for retention, which is also an extremely creepy concept; one day it could be 100+ foot deep grotesque hole, and if it was filled, within a day it could look no more harmless than a lake.

 image

2. Abandoned Amusement Parks

From Santa’s village to Gullivers travels, there are some creep-fest abandoned amusement parks out there. What is even creepier is reading the incident reports surrounding some of these places (both opened and closed), from derailments to giant-drop scalpings, its enough to make you never want to put that harness down again. The concept of Amusement park fatalities has been pushed to the max from movies like final destination, but something about this concept is neutered from the modern approach. I thing the creepiness inherently comes from the fact that both the park and the people who seek it are looking for 5-10 minutes of excitement, and within that little window can lie there soul’s final resting place, in many ways caught in an infinite loop of life. It serves to remind us that we’re all here just for the ride.

image

The picture above is taken from Okpo land in Korea. The park was shut down in 1999 after a number of fatal accidents, the last when a young girl tragically fell to her death from a ride. Immediately after that incident, the owner of the park disappeared and was never heard from again. Some rides still hang derailed.

 image

 Pictured above: New Orleans six flags damage after the hurricane

3. Free Mason Professors

 Nothing can be creepier then coming to class with a professor who shows handmade documentaries and relays way-to-heavy information on you every morning. I recall one particular professor I had that could not stop telling us all of his confidential information. I had a lingering suspicion he already profiled my classmates and I by the 1st day. From the NAACP being formed by white people, to Martin Luther King being hand picked by Harvard professors, to the Weather Underground documentaries (highly explicit), this guy was all over. I just wanted to be like, hey enough with this masonry, where is the Sociology? Education is not an excuse to exercise your personal beliefs through loosely related content. The same professor sent a former soldier with PTSD out of his class for politely supporting the section 8 movements.

4. Infinity

The concept of infinity is arguably the scariest single human concept we attempt to grasp. To put infinity in Laymen’s its everything happening at once, it’s the part of life force that no technology can contain or capture. We can try to understand and define it, but no person has accurately explained it. Even with the modern concepts on infinity, we involve fatality and morality, simply because we (for the most part) are bound by our life experiences, which forms what we are. Bioshock Infinite is a good modern example of this, but this execution doesn’t necessarily cover all the aspects, as infinity can overrule fatalism. All it takes is belief, and the rest changes from there.

image

5. Taxidermy subject filming

 When I saw Jan Svankmajer’s “Alice”, I was purely freaked out. The effect of using once-living creatures as puppets is beyond sardonic, little alone making an Alice in Wonderland rendition in the process. This movie was everything I envisioned Alice in Wonderland to be, before I saw the cartoon. You could feel the confusion of the main character with little external dialogue, in a story like Alice in Wonderland, it can’t not help to take a conscience’s perspective. I feel like modern horror moviemakers should make note of these analog techniques. Maybe I could be scared in a movie theater again, not just waiting for the next loud noise or rendered graphic to jump out at me.

6. The Wicker Man (1973)

 The Wicker Man is my all time favorite horror movie. It executes creepiness like its secondhand. At first you have no clue what your watching, with “Corn rigs and Barley”, repeated over and over again. But that’s all apart of the artistic execution, which Nick Cage’s rendition completely failed to capture. It’s a shame such an awesome movie can be overly remade into shit. The original scene of “Gently Johnny” into the cemetery shows some very realistic unseen aspects of modern society, from the group of people singing to Willow in an obviously cult-like fashion, to the naked woman flailing herself over a sacrifice’s grave, it leaves images in your mind you won’t forget. Nick Cage beating up middle-aged women is just not the same thing.

image

7. The Residents

 In my post earlier, I highlighted The Residents and their song “The Gingerbread man”, I want to go deeper into my personal interest in this band. To start, I hate their music, but I love their appeal. They are known for covering just about every modern pop song in the most deconstructed fashion possible. They can turn beautiful melodies into a tirade. A perfect example of this is the lead singers solo project. At live performances he would go as far as performing/dementing “Livin la vida Loca” and other famous American pop songs, dressed and make’d-up as an old man with a cane. The costume has been an essential part of The Residents as they haven’t disclosed their official identities in a public manner. When they started, the most infamous residents costume was the eyeball get-up which completely covered their faces.

image

8. The Basement of Gallery of Carpet (Villa Park Location)

 The Basement of the former GOC location arguably tops all on this list. My 1st run-in with GOC’s spirits was on the 1st night of recording. I arranged all of the musicians at the studio that night, everybody was ready to record. It was the engineer’s 1st project at the studio by himself, so we were trying to take all the precautionary measures to ensure an awesome recording. Unfortunately, the 1st organ I flipped on lit on fire and  set the fire alarms off. All of the musicians split out, I tried to stay behind and help the engineer, but in his efforts to shut the power off, an antique breaker electrocuted him. He just started going nuts, so I split out and watched all the local police and fire department come-and-go. I came back after they left, and the engineer instructed me to go get a mop from the basement to clean up the fire marks. This is the first time I saw the basement, I’ll leave the rest up to you, if you go there someday, you can see it and experience it for yourself. There is also an account from one of the people who lived above the studio in the apartments. Supposedly sporadic fires and odd occurrences were happening to the people who lived there during the duration of the recording. From possession, poltergeists, drug addiction, and documented suicides (i.e. one of This Is Me Smiling’s original members), this place has highlighted all the above in double fine print. I believe this energy stems from the basement. My experiences at the former GOC entailed a starch feeling of paranoia. I couldn’t fully describe what I experienced there, even if I tried. All I know, is that minutes turned to seconds, and the future became overwhelmingly apparent. I can sum this haunting up in one word, Proverbidiom. If you ever want to visit this location yourself, visit All-A-Electric in Villa Park. Hopefully the basement door will be open for you.

image

9. Bachelor’s Grove Cemetary

I visited Bachelor’s grove personally just recently. From the mile-long forest trail, to the peculiar rusted gates, this place begs to be explored. I noticed when I walked up that there were numerous people just relaxing around the cemetery, not necessarily by graves but just out and about. When you first enter the cemetery, the amount of vandalism is uncanny. Few graves have been left standing. In the main area of the cemetery is the Infant’s grave, where you are supposed to leave a toy or trinket (which I didn’t do, gods damn me). Right next to the cemetery lies the infamous Bachelor’s grove bog. Its said that Al Capone dumped some of his victims into this bog, and even after his death, the deceased were still floating up from the bog’s bottom. I didn’t see any body parts floating when I explored though, just my cigs after I smoked them.

 image

10. Wiccan cults

 I understand you do Wicca (if you do). I get that its just another form of religion. But if you make it your life, you my friend have blurred the fine lines of religion and occult. Nature is free. Be it for self or group benefit, the profit (/phet) is false. The world runs on it’s own schedule, and it beats your 3 A.M. time of the dead rituals.

11. Deliverance (1972)

 The last on my list is Deliverance. This movie is straight up disturbing; it passes the lines of creepy by a matter of miles. From Jon Voight’s performance to the banjo duel, there is numerous moments that this movie not only shows you, but engrains into your mind what it’s all about. If you’ve ever been to the South, you can see how something like this could of easily transcended from script to reality. The process of attaining freedom is a key focus in this movie, but its ironic because the situation spawned from a decision based off of freedom in the 1st place. This movie will make you want to think twice about canoeing in the South, at the least.

 -G

Leave a Reply

